Kimchi and Korea

5 Sep

Hey team!  I hope that everyone is doing well. Things are going well for me.

One of the great benefits of being far away from the city (about four hours by car) is that I get the opportunity to do all the sightseeing that some missionaries never get to do. For example, today I’m going to the beach!   So I must apologize again that the email this week is a little short. Anyway, here is the recap of my week.  .

First off, our current Branch President is moving back to Seoul. Super sad!  Luckily there are a couple of other Branch Members who are priesthood holders in the Taebaek Branch that qualify to fill in that spot.  However, as you may know, every Bishop or Branch President has two counselors.  So it is possible that one of us missionaries will be called as a counselor to the Branch President.

Second off. I made Kimchi this week.

IMG_0755

Basically it was kind of a terrible process. Even if you know very little about Korea, chances are you have still heard about Kimchi.  Just about everyone has.

kimchi

BUT in case you haven’t, here’s a quick description of how this Korean staple is made. First you take crispy green fresh head of cabbage right off the farm. Then you take it, tear it up and soak it in water for 3-6 hours until it gets bendy but not chewy. (Doesn’t seem that important, but it makes a HUGE difference in the Kimchi at the end).  Then you drain the water. Next you chop up Korea’s entire gross product of garlic, ginger, onions, and red pepper.  Then sprinkle in some salt, sesame oil and vinegar. and mix it all up with your hands for like an hour.

IMG_0756You have to get the seasoning mixed into the cabbage. The final step is to put the cabbage into a crock and bury it in your backyard for a predetermined amount of time.  I don’t know how long it gets buried.  All I know is that you bury it.  Finally, you open the crock and let it sit.  Then is it is ready to eat.  Basically its pickled cabbage.

If you want to learn more about Kimchi, and you happen to be in Seoul, you can visit the Pulmuone Kimchi Museum.  Or on-line go to THIS LINK.  At the museum, they charge tourists money for the opportunity to make Kimchi.  I didn’t even have to pay to be involved in this cultural experience.  This was my offering of service for the week.  Some people hate Kimchi.  I happen to love it.  After I eat it and I sweat, I smell like Kimchi.  So we’ll see how long that smell lasts when I get home!  Kimchi is delicious and I encourage everybody to at least give it a try!

IMG_0753

Anyways, as I said, I’m going to the beach today!  So this isn’t too long of a post! Have a great week everybody! Love, Ian!

Leave a Reply

Cori in Korea

Ian's Got Seoul

Elder Cole Nixon

Ian's Got Seoul

Elder Ian Mills

Ian's Got Seoul

