So Long Seoul South

18 Jun

I’m sad.  😦  On July 1, the mission is splitting in two.  The missions will be the Seoul Mission and the Seoul South Mission.  Because of the split, it will be about two years until I can visit with the 80 missionaries I have come to love who will be going to the Seoul South Mission.  I will be staying in the Seoul Mission.

Gyeongbokgung Palace in Seoul

Gyeongbokgung Palace in Seoul

Back in the 2000s, the mission used to be split in two.  But about four years ago, they combined the Seoul and Seoul West Missions into one big mission. However, with the influx of new missionaries, the Church has decided to re-split the mission!

So on that note, it is time to give a big southern goodbye to my dear friends Elder Nixon and Elder Brewer. Those two were in my MTC district and I relied on them through those tough times.  They will do great work down South.  But I surely will miss them.

So now you know that I am officially part of the Korea Seoul Mission!  What you might not have guessed is who my new companion is going to be!  Elder Vomocil and I are going to be training. We don’t know who our new companion will be.  He will be arriving on June 19, 2013.  I am scared and excited at the same time! It will be a wonderful experience for me to be really bad at Korean but really the only one who can speak the language.  It will be terrifying, but awesome.

I’m excited to stay here in 원당! (Goyang) I love it up here! I’m happy to stay with the Ward I have learned to love.  I’m just really sad to see such great missionaries leave. I know they will be great wherever they end up.

I know Heavenly Father will bless me as I lead this new missionary into the potential unknown.  I’m excited to see where my Korean is at the end of his training. I know Heavenly Father will help me.

Smile, Love, Hug. Be happy and kind to everyone.

Talk to ya’ll next week!

Leave a Reply

Cori in Korea

Ian's Got Seoul

Elder Cole Nixon

Ian's Got Seoul

Elder Ian Mills

Ian's Got Seoul

