My First Assignment – Incheon

1 Apr

So! I made it to Korea on Tuesday.  Landed. Subwayed from the Incheon Airport to Seoul and then spent the night in the Seoul Korea Temple dorms.

Seoul-Korea-Temple

The next morning we got our assignments.  I’ll be serving in the city of Incheon in the Mansu Ward.  Incheon is on the west coast of Korea

Capture

Here is a Link that will tell you more about Incheon.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Incheon.

So for now I am officially within the bounds of what will be the new Seoul South mission.  The transfers that happen the week before will be the determining factor, but I will probably stay in the Seoul South Mission. The sad thing is that if I stay in the South Mission after the split I won’t be able to go to the temple, at all or visit this monster shopping mall called Dongdaemoon.  I’ll have to get to both places before the split happens officially on July 1.

Right now my companions are named Elder Thompson and Elder Birsette. Elder Thompson was with me in the MTC.  So that makes Elder Birsette a double trainer until they can get me my own companion.

I am doing mostly great.  We gave our intro messages yesterday at church, which was unsurprisingly EXACTLY like church at home. I understood no words, but I knew exactly what they were talking about.

Our ward is actually really really awesome.  We have such a strong membership here.  We have our own free standing church building (one of only two in the whole city of Incheon).  The crazy thing is that just our area covers about 1,000,000 people.

One way we find investigators is to teach English classes.  Our English class is pretty busy.  But getting from free English to church is a big stretch for Koreans.  We taught one discussion last week and we had a confirmation yesterday, which was a huge deal.  Our ward is the busiest in the mission because we had two baptisms in the past couple months.

I’ll continue to keep you up to date with all the important news.

Love Ian

Leave a Reply

Cori in Korea

Ian's Got Seoul

Elder Cole Nixon

Ian's Got Seoul

Elder Ian Mills

Ian's Got Seoul

